Naija: Charity Begins Abroad

By Adeola Aderounmu

If all the corrupt politicians and other corrupt people in Naija are to be arrested while abroad and put on trial, we will likely have a state of emergency.

What I mean is that there will be almost no one left in the seat of government in Naija and several businesses both private and public will need sudden adjustments to be able to continue with their functions or activities.

This is not an exaggeration. Corruption is a way of life rather than an exception in Naija and it must stop.

Naija’s seat of power will be empty if international laws make room or allowance for the sort of criminal prosecution that James Ibori is undergoing in UK.

Think about all the corruption charges and criminal activities that have been swept under the carpets in Naija since time immemorial.

It is impossible to write the list all over again; one can go mad trying to do that. Which one do you want to start from and where do you want to end?

Summarily you will hardly find any member of the ruling class both ex- and present at federal, state and local levels that are not soiled in one form of corruption/ looting charges or the other. You will hardly find officials who are not living above their income + allowances.

There are many probes that have been undertaken but we always end up at square one. That means that nothing comes out of the probes. Instead the discovered loots from Naija and abroad are redistributed and everyone goes mute. When it is not that, it is one corrupt group providing cover to another one.

Ideology departed naija long time ago.

The end result is the devastation of Naija by those who have promised to uphold the constitution, the rule of law and service to humanity. The outcome is the disgraceful ranking of Naija among the poorest countries in the world.

Time and time again I have refused to come to terms with how (probably) the most blessed country in the world became a home to some of the poorest people alive. This incomprehensible agony may follow me to my grave. It’s the greatest pain I bear.

How and what do you want to think about Naija. They tell us to stop complaining. How can we? Everyone of us must continue to use the means / medium available to him or her to continue to address the issues affecting Naija no matter how little the contributions seems. We will never have a perfect country but we must do all we can to pursue the optimal conditions-that aim at peace, happiness and the fulfilment of our dreams as individuals and as a nation.

Just the other day another Naija who has shamelessly contributed to the under-development of our football over the years was finally exposed far away in Switzerland. Amos Adamu, instead of accepting his fate, instead of repenting and turning a new leaf went bragging about his innocence. Evidence don’t lie, not when they are available in audio and video. If he pushes his luck too far the evidence may surface on YouTube sooner or later.

A person like me can only wish, but International laws are not going to change to the extent that they will allow all the corrupt people in Naija to be arrested and prosecuted while on wasteful adventures abroad.

I do not mean / and I have never stated that oyinbos are not corrupt but the differences are too clear. When oyinbos–as individuals-are exposed or caught in the acts, they tend to resign and then face court actions. Naijans don’t resign. They get promoted after each corrupt activity.

Even if a newspaper or news outfit in Naija publishes a story about one corrupt officer or public servant. The story may not appear twice.

The affected officer/ his people will kill the news information by several means. The journalist can be bribed and kept silence forever. The journalist could even be literarily killed like it has happened several times in Naija. The newspaper/ news outfit company may even see such information as a means to enrich the organisation as a whole. Blackmail may set in.

In the end the story dies. Poverty spreads and the moral decadence is aggravated.

There are thousands of cases of Naija officials who have escaped from the arm of the law even under the EFCC since its inception. EFCC as it was in the beginning is still the same today-selectively and inconclusively pursuing justice. It makes no sense. The essence of our lives remains eroded by the consequences of all the things we have done half way or totally neglected.

In 1983 Mrs Obi my class teacher at Central Primary School, Festac Town, taught me that nearly does not catch a bird. Throughout life, my father told me that what is worth doing at all is worth doing well. I have learnt many things in my life. These things indicate to me that the people who have managed to hold the rest of us hostage in Naija are abnormal people.

The rest of us have loads of sacrifices to make if we want true freedom and normal independence. To this day, it’s absolute madness at the helm of affairs where corruption continues to beget corruption.

The cost of the destruction and devastation that has befallen Naija are inestimable. We could have built a bridge that goes round the world if we wanted. We didn’t. Instead we created emperors, tyrants and dictators who have total evil intents and wicked purposes.

For example, if we look at the cost of going to school alone in Nigeria, we get an overview of the doom ahead. Whilst every nation of the world strive to provide basic, compulsory and affordable or free education to their citizens, Nigeria continues to make it harder and harder for ordinary people to get education. It is as if that is the plan for the slavery of the future.

We have gone through the first slavery. We have gone through first colonisation. Both perpetrated by oyinbos. We are now enduring second (internal) colonisation. Yet the present indicates that the future might be worse. I am not a pessimist but when you take education away from the people, you make their emancipation even harder.

I could write forever about my pains and frustrations as a naija person. But my message as usual, is that we should put an end to the stupidity that reigns in our public institutions. I know that it is possible to turn things around. I’ve been searching for the turning point for naija.

Rather than trying to fix problems, wouldn’t it be better for us at every point in time to ensure that we do the right thing, seek peace, fairness and justice?

In all that we do, because no one will build this nation but ourselves, Charity must begin in Naija.

4 responses to “Naija: Charity Begins Abroad

  1. I read your writings must times and am so touched and moved besically because what U write about a basic truth and facts but U keep saying nobody will Change this county for us expect we ourselves and U.re out there (abroad) acquiring certificates enriching your pockets and enjoying yourself while local touts not qualified to be gate men becomes our councilman.chairman governor and even president. If U don’t have or intend to add or contribute then don’t criticize….
    Thanks

    • Lekan,

      as one of your teachers in secondary school, you must agree with me that I gave my best. You don’t know my story, or maybe you know a part of it.

      I was educated before I came to Europe. There is nothing wrong if I get more education or certificates. You should never remain stagnant either in knowledge or the things you do.

      You can’t say that I’m enriching my pocket, that’s a bad notion. I worked hard in Nigeria and I’m still working hard where I am now. That is not enrichment. I have never been a rich man. I live in an open society, you can come over and check my accounts.

      You have no idea what I do every other day to promote Nigeria in Sweden. I belong to some associations / groups where I represent my country. Where I work, people have not stopped to ask me-where are you from? As a citizen of Nigeria living abroad, I give my country a good image. I brand my country more than the looters in Nigeria can ever imagine.

      Check my name on youtube and see the interview I granted in my house to encourage a group to visit Jos. Just afterwards riots broke out in Jos and the trip was cancelled. Just the other day I have encourage a former student of mine to visit Nigeria when he asked me about it. At the moment, I am still answering questions from a college students about gender and education in Nigeria. Anytime I have the chance, I continue to promote my country. That much I can do for now.

      My blog is just a special place to let go of my anger and frustrations. You can’t stop me.

      When I interact with other Nigerians including the immediate past Nigerian ambassador to Sweden, I have never failed to give them pieces of my mind about Nigeria. My message is constant either to people or through my writings.

      When I am in Nigeria. I still go to the same places as before. I suffer the same things that I suffered as a child. I have no electricity, the road are bad that my 1986 Honda Civic can feel it in matter of hours. I live with friends and family when I’m in Nigeria. In Nigeria my travails are still the same. In 2006 I sat and wept, I was full of pain and sadness.

      Lekan, I am an ordinary Nigerian. I will not wage a war against my country but I will not hesitate to join hands with progressive elements to move the nation forward.

      I understand your comment. I’ve heard that a million times. It is just not natural, we all cannot be at the same place at the same time even if we have a common cause.

      My writing or blogging is all I have now to reach to the people who misgovern you and me. If you ask me to stop criticising, it’s like asking that all forms of communications in the world should be closed down because of the social injustice all over the world. It doesn’t make sense. Media houses for example cannot stop the wars or problems around the world but they still have the right to report them and make criticisms through investigative journalism or freelancing.

      Lekan, no matter what you or other people think, you WILL never be able to stop me from criticising a bad government or an unfair world. Don’t even think about it. Join hands with us the way you can, so that one day, our contributions will merge to make the changes we seek.

      It appears to me you are in the UK. I hope you are having a good time.

  2. Am presently in my house in festac town and am presently the only one staying the that apartment for now. I respect your dignity and your personality I wish U could just come online and I can chat with you.. Am always online because I use a blackberry phonee.
    I’ve always seen you to be a good and honorable person a patriotic and a person with dignity. I see what goes onn around me everyday and also try as much as I can to preach this same gospel U’re presently preaching but its hard and not really making headway… Am not trying to stop you neither am I trying to limit you but the fact is that a bold step has to be taken and when will it be done and by who? People Down here who are scared or people over there (outside) the country who have so manything astake. But the major fact still remains that a bold step has to be taken.. I envy U a lot because you’re very smart and intelligent even in your writing I wish we could chat or talk more.. Am onn yahoo and facebook chat presently with this I.D lekanok@yahoo.com

  3. If we cannot help ourselves God will use foreigners to do the job we have cried saverally but it does seems they authorities in nigeria does not want work against themselves by enact a law that will work against theeir selfish ambition

Leave a Reply

